The parish community of St. John the Evangelist which was founded in 1883, was briefly a mission of North Attleboro. The first large, wooden church was built in 1885. The present church was dedicated in 1932.
Inside St. John's Parish
In this tour you'll be exploring our beautiful church! Look closely at all the work that was put in to build our church.
In the sanctuary, there are multiple carvings. One in particular are angels on both sides of the high altar.
This stained glass window depicts St. Agnes holding a lamb and a pen. It was donated by Mrs. Thomas Kelliher and Mrs. John McGuire.
St. Elizabeth of Hungary
This stained glass window depicts St. Elizabeth of Hungary carrying a bunch full of roses. It was donated by Hannah Kearney.
This stained glass window depicts St. Cecilia holding a mini organ. It was donated by Cecilia McKeon Higgins.
The Rose Window
Above the main altar is a stained glass devoted to the Blessed Sacrament. This rose features a Lamb and a Chalice, which symbolize the Blessed Sacrament. It was donated by Judge Philip E. Brady, former Mayor of Attleboro.
Sacred Heart of Jesus Side Altar
This altar, next to the statue of St. Joseph is dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. It holds the tabernacle.
Our Lady Side Altar
This altar, next to the statue of St. Mary is dedicated to The Blessed Virgin Mary, in whom
Hospitality & Administration Center
The Parish Center which was built in 1998 in similar design to the present church, houses the parish offices and several rooms that are used for events and ministry meetings.
Our spire is on top of the church.
The high altar of our church, with a crucifix placed above calls all minds to dwell on and observe the sacrifice that we experience when we celebrate Mass.
St. Issac Jogues
This stained glass window depicts St. Issac Jogues holding a cross, a Bible, and a rosary bead. It was donated by Mr. and Mrs. Joseph F. Rioux.
St. James Major
This stained glass window depicts St. James Major holding a staff and a Bible. It was donated by Rev. James M. Quinn.
St. Vincent de Paul
This stained glass window depicts St. Vincent de Paul holding a child and a loaf of bread. It was donated by Dr. and Mrs. Frederick V. Murphy.
On the opposite side of the altar stands the lectern stand. Here the lectors, priests, and deacons proclaim the Word of God.
Statue of St. Mary
Small altar to the left of the main altar.
Our sign located at the corner of North Main and Peck.
All around the church's spire, gargoyles pop out.
Take a walk down the main aisle and explore St. John's Parish!
St. Francis of Assisi
This stained glass window depicts St. Francis of Assisi surrounded by two doves. It was donated by Mr. and Mrs. Frank Nolan.
St. Therese of Lisieux
This stained glass window depicts St. Therese of Lisieux while holding a cross, a rosary bead, and roses. It was donated by Mr. and Mrs. James S. Brennan.
The Great West Window
All of our beautiful stained glass windows were designed by Charles J. Connick of Boston. Our first stained glass is above the main entrance and choir loft. It features our patron, St. John the Evangelist, beside the cross opposite Mary. It was donated by the Most Rev. James E. Cassidy.
Baptismal Font & Paschal Candle
On the altar stands the Baptismal Font, which the Sacrament of Baptism takes place and the Paschal Candle, which is first lit at the Easter Vigil and is then lit subsequently at various Masses, baptisms and funerals.